Frank Jenko

Head of Tokamak Theory Division, IPP; Professor, University of Texas at Austin
Office Phone
Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Garching, Germany

Technical University of Munich, Ph.D. 1998


Frank Jenko is Head of the Tokamak Theory Division and DIrector at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics at Garching, Germany. At the same time, he is Professor at the University of Texas at Austin and at the Technical University of Munich. He has co-authored more than 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals, including one of the most cited articles in "Physics of Plasmas" and more than 20 papers in "Physical Review Letters." His awards include a Starting Grant of the European Research Council (2011), the Hans Werner Osthoff Plasma Physics Prize awarded by the University of Greifswald (2004) and the Otto Hahn Medal conferred by the Max Planck Society (1999).

In the late 1990s, Frank Jenko co-pioneered the development and application of grid-based numerical techniques for the investigation of kinetic turbulence in magnetized plasmas. Since then, his computer simulation code GENE has been playing a key role for analyzing both laboratory and natural plasmas, standing at the forefront of (scientific discovery through) High Performance Computing. Presently, his research ranges from fusion research and plasma astrophysics to basic plasma physics and turbulence research. In a series of publications since 2002, he has contributed to the understanding of turbulent transport in stellarators. Within the present Simons Collaboration, he will explore the optimization of stellarators w.r.t. turbulence.