Simons Hour Talk

Parametric Design and Analysis of High Field Stellarator Coils
Date
Apr 25, 2024, 10:00 am11:00 am
Location
Virtual

Details

Event Description

Abstract: Comparing to tokamaks, the engineering challenges with stellarator coils are related to their complicated 3D shape with small bending radii and demanding requirements on the coil-shape tolerances. In addition, due to the variety of stellarator configurations, there is a need for an analysis tool applicable to various configurations. The objective of this work is to propose an engineering design tool for the magnet system of stellarators. Different options are considered like Nb3Sn superconductors, high-temperature superconductors (HTS) and non-insulated HTS coils. This talk presents the workflow for the development of this tool for analysis of stellarator coils, which bases solely on the central current path. As case study, HELIAS 5-B is analyzed which is the EUROfusion baseline for the stellarator engineering efforts. The electromagnetic analysis for HELIAS 5B has been conducted leading to around 12 T peak field in the winding pack, and a preliminary design of the winding pack, based on Nb3Sn, is proposed. Plans for the mechanical and thermal-hydraulic analyses of the coil system will be outlined.
 

Talk time in other timezones:
AEST 12:00 AM Fri 25 Apr,
JST  11:00 PM Thu 24 Apr,
CEST  4:00 PM Thu 24 Apr,
BST   3:00 PM Thu 24 Apr,
UTC  14:00    Thu 24 Apr,
EDT  10:00 AM Thu 24 Apr,
CDT   9:00 AM Thu 24 Apr,
MDT   8:00 AM Thu 24 Apr,
PDT   7:00 AM Thu 24 Apr
Sponsor
Simons Foundation